Getty Images
Getty Images photographers recognised at British Sports Journalism Awards
Mar 8, 2023
 |  PDF
London – 8 March 2023: Getty Images, a preeminent global visual content creator and marketplace, has been honoured with multiple awards at the SJA British Sports Journalism Awards. First staged in 1949, the British Sports Journalism Awards are the oldest sports awards in Britain, recognising excellence in the profession of journalism.

The winners include Shaun Botterill, who took home the Ed Lacey Trophy for SJA Sports Photographer of the Year and the Canon Portfolio, and Catherine Ivill, who became the first female photographer to win the Football Portfolio award. Michael Regan also claimed the Picture of the Year award for his work covering the FIFA World Cup 2022.

In addition, Getty Images’ photographers were honoured across a variety of categories, including:
  • Shaun Botterill – Winner, SJA Sports Photographer of the Year (Ed Lacey Trophy) and Canon Portfolio
  • Catherine Ivill – Winner, Football Portfolio
  • Michael Regan – Winner, Picture of the Year
  • Alex Pantling – Silver, Canon Portfolio
  • Clive Mason – Silver, Specialist Portfolio (Phil Sheldon Trophy)
  • Julian Finney – Silver, News Picture, and Bronze, Canon Portfolio and Football Portfolio
  • James Chance – Bronze, Young Photographer
Paul Gilham, Senior Director of Editorial Photography at Getty Images, said: “We are incredibly proud of our world‑class photographers for their recognition at this year’s SJA British Sports Journalism Awards.  Their commitment to photographic excellence, to innovation and creativity is second to none and the images they have produced capture the essence of sports and its importance within our community.”

Getty Images has the largest and most comprehensive sports collection available today, covering more than 50,000 events annually and partnering with many of the most significant sports leagues and governing bodies in the world.

Credit: Shaun Botterill